Golden Star Announces Election of Directors

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - May 9, 2014) - Golden Star Resources Ltd. (NYSE MKT:GSS)(TSX:GSC)(GHANA:GSR) ("Golden Star" or the "Company") today announced that all of the nominee directors listed in the Company's management information circular dated March 14, 2014, were elected as directors of the Company. The vote was conducted at the Company's annual general and special meeting of shareholders held on May 8, 2014. The results of the vote are set out below:

Nominee   Votes For   Votes Withheld   Percentage of Votes For   Percentage
of Votes Withheld
Timothy C. Baker   108,541,321   2,055,815   98.14   1.86
Samuel T. Coetzer   108,565,531   2,031,605   98.16   1.84
Anu Dhir   109,158,518   1,438,618   98.70   1.30
Robert E. Doyle   109,372,380   1,224,756   98.89   1.11
Tony Alan Jensen   109,431,715   1,165,421   98.95   1.05
Craig J. Nelsen   109,404,013   1,193,123   98.92   1.08
Christopher M.T. Thompson   109,472,166   1,124,970   98.98   1.02
William L. Yeates   109,265,321   1,331,815   98.80   1.20

Company Profile

Golden Star is an established gold mining company that holds a 90% interest in both the Bogoso and Wassa open-pit gold mines in Ghana. Golden Star also has a 90% interest in the Prestea Underground mine in Ghana, which is currently undergoing permitting subsequent to a successful feasibility study completed in June 2013. In 2013, Golden Star sold 331,000 ounces of gold and the Company expects to produce 295,000 to 320,000 ounces of gold in 2014. For further information on the Company, please visit

Contact Information:
Golden Star Resources Ltd.
Andre van Niekerk
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Golden Star Resources Ltd.
Angela Parr
Director Investor Relations